Bayer announces key leadership changes

Simon-Thorsten Wiebusch to take over as President, Bayer South Asia and Vice Chairman, MD & CEO of Bayer CropScience Ltd (BCSL) from D Narain who retires from Bayer in November

Bayer has announced, that after more than 25 years of service, D Narain (D), the current President of Bayer South Asia; Vice Chairman, Managing Director & CEO of Bayer CropScience Limited (BCSL) and the Global Head of Smallholder Farming for Bayer, will retire by end of November 2023. Simon-Thorsten Wiebusch (Simon) will take over as President, Bayer South Asia and as Vice Chairman, Managing Director & CEO of Bayer CropScience Ltd (BCSL) on November 1st, 2023. Simon will take on these new responsibilities, in addition to his current role as Country Division Head (CDH) of India, Bangladesh & Sri Lanka (IBSL) cluster in Crop Science.

Simon moved to India in December 2018 as Chief Operating Officer of IBSL cluster and in partnership with D established the cluster as a strong growth engine for smallholders before being appointed the Country Division Head (CDH) at the beginning of 2022. Simon started his career with Bayer in 1998 from the company’s headquarters in Germany. He built his professional experience by working in multiple divisions of the company across various geographies like Germany, Eastern Europe, and Asia. Before taking over his current role in India, he was the Chief Executive Officer for Bayer’s Crop Science Division in South-East Asia.

D Narain (D), with a career spanning nearly three and half decades in global agriculture, has passionately strived to bring innovative solutions for the upliftment of smallholder farmers globally and with the efforts over the last 5 years, has established the global smallholder business as integral to the long-term growth of the company with a commitment of delivering outcomes of improving smallholder incomes and livelihoods.




Bayerleadership changesnew appointment
Comments (0)
Add Comment