Ameera Shah gets EY Entrepreneur of the Year award in life science and healthcare

Recognition was also given to Metropolis Healthcare's support in India’s fight against COVID-19 in 2020
Read Article

Metropolis Healthcare announced that Ameera Shah, Promoter and MD at Metropolis Healthcare has won the EY Entrepreneur of the Year (EOY) award in the life science and healthcare category. Shah was adjudged the winner of the category as part of the 22nd EOY India 2020 awards held virtually. Interestingly, Dr Sushil Shah, the founder and chairman of Metropolis Healthcare was also one of finalists at the 13th edition of E&Y India awards held in 2013.

The award was bestowed to Shah in recognition of her achievement in transforming Metropolis Healthcare from a single unit in Mumbai, into a multinational chain of laboratories in India and Africa. The jury also took note of Shah’s journey in overcoming several challenges, an appetite for risk as well as Metropolis Healthcare support in India’s fight against COVID-19 in 2020.

Shah said, “You cannot be an entrepreneur if you are not comfortable with uncertainty. Such uncertainties help in getting you trained on how to operate during crisis situations. This has been one of the key lessons in my success and has helped me reach where I am today. I am extremely delighted to have been bestowed with this award. It is an honor to receive recognition for all the efforts put in by my team at Metropolis Healthcare. The award is even more special as it acknowledges the sheer effort put in during the pandemic and all this while being a new mother.”

Winners of the EY Entrepreneur awards were selected by a nine-member independent jury led by Uday Kotak, managing director and CEO of Kotak Mahindra Bank. The other jury members were: Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, chairperson of Biocon; Neeraj Bharadwaj, MD, Carlyle India Advisors; Jalaj Dani, co-promoter, Asian Paints; Amit Dixit, co-head of Asia Acquisitions and head of India at Blackstone Private Equity; Deep Kalra, founder and group executive chairman, MakeMyTrip; Rajnish Kumar, former chairman of State Bank of India, Rishad Premji, chairman, Wipro; and Gopal Srinivasan, founder and CMD, TVS Capital Funds.

Ameera ShahE&Y India awardsEY Entrepreneur of the YearMetropolis Healthcare
Comments (0)
Add Comment